Going into work on a daily basis is a necessity for most people in the state of New Jersey to earn a living. While you will typically be able to get through the day without an incident, injuries can happen at work. If you are injured and incur a loss because of it, you could qualify for support under your employer’s workers compensation insurance plan. If you are injured and want to file a workers compensation claim, there are several tips and steps that should be filed.
Get Medical Attention
If you incur any type of injury while you are at work, the first thing that you must do is get medical attention. While you will want to have your injury covered, it is important to ensure you are cared for before starting the process. Once you do see your doctor, it is important that you follow their exact expectations for care including rest, time away from work, and getting additional therapy and medication when necessary. You should always keep a record of any medical reports you receive as they could be needed for your claim.
Know Your Qualifications
If you are injured while at work, filing for a claim under your employer’s workers’ compensation plan is always a good idea. However, it is important that you understand your qualifications and what expenses could be covered. Under the worker’s compensation plan, your injuries will be covered if you were injured while at work or performing duties necessary for the job. Injuries that occurred while you are at home or not at work will not be covered by workers’ compensation.
If you do file a claim, the worker’s compensation plan should cover any costs that you incur. This can include costs related to your medical bills, therapy, prescription medication, and ongoing care. It can also cover your lost wages if you are not able to return to work.
Notify Your Employer of Injuries
Once you have received the necessary care, it is important that you notify your employer as soon as possible that you were injured and want to file a workers’ compensation claim. When notifying your employer, you should include documentation about the accident including your personal statement, medical bills, and anything else that will help support your claim. By law, in this state, you will need to provide formal notice to your employer within 90 days of your injury. However, as it can take time to process a claim, you are always better off reporting it sooner rather than later.
Check on Status of Claim
Once you have notified your employer, they will have up to 21 days to file an official claim to the New Jersey Division of Workers’ Compensation. If you have not heard back from your employer already, it would be a good idea to check in with them during this period to ensure it is filed on time. You can then continue to check in to ensure that your claim is approved, at which point you should start receiving benefits. If it is not approved, you can move forward with an appeals process.
Hire an Attorney
As there are complexities that come with filing a workers’ compensation claim in New Jersey, having legal support by your side can be helpful. Your attorney can help you file the initial claim and provide any additional support needed if your claim is denied, including representation during any hearings. When you are looking for legal support here, calling the law offices of Michael J. Fioretti, Esq can be a great option. The legal here team is experienced and knowledgeable about workers compensation in this state, and they can offer various services to ensure you receive the financial support you deserve.